Agenda and minutes

Venue: The George Hudson Board Room - 1st Floor West Offices (F045). View directions

Contact: Fiona Young  Interim Democratic Services Manager

No. Item

Fiona Williams

Before the formal business of the meeting began, the Lord Mayor invited all those present to observe a minute’s silence in memory of Fiona Williams BEM, former Head of Libraries and Archives at City of York Council and later Chief Executive of Explore York Libraries and Archives, who had sadly died in May this year.


Public Participation (18:11)

At this point in the meeting, any member of the public who has registered to address the Council, on a matter directly relevant to the business on this agenda, may do so.    The deadline for registering is 5:00pm on Tuesday, 18 July 2023.


To register to speak please visit to fill in an online registration form. If you have any questions about the registration form or the meeting please contact Democratic Services. Contact details can be found at the foot of this agenda.


Webcasting of Public Meetings

Please note that, subject to available resources, this public meeting will be webcast including any registered public speakers who have given their permission.  The remote public meeting can be viewed live and on demand at


During coronavirus, we made some changes to how we're running council meetings.  See our updates at for more information on meetings and decisions.





It was reported that one person had registered to speak at the meeting under Public Participation, in relation to the business on the agenda.


Gwen Swinburn voiced concerns about the current process of selecting and appointing Honorary Aldermen, stating that an open committee should be established for this purpose and that the title of ‘Honorary Alderwoman’ should also be available.



Honorary Aldermen (18:13)

The Lord Mayor will state the object of the meeting :


Under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council has the power to confer a new honour on certain persons. The honour is that of Honorary Alderman and the persons upon whom the honour may be conferred are persons who have rendered eminent service to the Council.


The honour has to be conferred at a meeting of the Council specially convened for this purpose. This meeting of the Council is specially convened for such purpose.


The Lord Mayor will move the following motion:


“That, pursuant to its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council do confer upon each of the following:


John Galvin

Janet Looker


the title of Honorary Alderman of the City of York, in recognition of the eminent services which they rendered to the Council of the said City during the period that they were Members of the Council.”


Councillor Douglas will second the motion.


The motion will be put.



The Lord Mayor declared the object of the meeting, under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, which was to confer the status of Honorary Alderman upon two former Members of Council.


It was then moved by the Lord Mayor, Councillor Cullwick, and seconded by Cllr Douglas:


“That, pursuant to its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council do confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City of York upon the following:


John Galvin

Janet Looker


in formal recognition of their significant contribution to the City during the time that they served upon City of York Council.”


Following a debate on formally acknowledging the distinction between Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen in future referencing, the motion was put to the vote and declared CARRIED and it was


RESOLVED:   That the above motion, to award the honour to John Galvin and Janet Looker, be approved



Back to the top of the page