Appendix One


York World Heritage Steering Group Members.


Members since 2011.         * indicates also a member for the 2010/2011 Bid.


*Dr. Peter Addyman -  York Archaeological Trust

*Darrell Buttery – York Civic Trust

*Professor Sir Ron Cooke – York Civic Trust

  Dr.David Fraser – York Civic Trust

*Dr. Richard Shephard – York Minster

 Tom Gibson – Gild of Freemen of the City of York

*John Oxley – former City of York Council Archaeologist

*David Warburton –City of York Council

*Cllr. David Taylor

*Alison Sinclair – Architectural Historian and Conservationist

*Ian Tempest -  since 2018, Yorkshire Architectural and York Archaeological Society  (YAYAS)

*Martin Watts – York Museums Trust (until 2013)

*Michael Woodward – York Museums Trust (until 2016)

  Bill Woolley – former Director, City of York Council

*Janet Hopton – former City of York Councillor.   Chairman of Steering Group.


Additional members since January 2019.


Dr. Mary Garrison – University of York

Dr. Ailsa Mainman – University of York

Professor John Schofield – University of York

Professor Tony Robards – York Archaeological Trust

Dr. Andrew Woods – York Museums Trust

Jo Killeya – York Museums Trust

Andrew Morrison – York Civic Trust

Charlie Croft – City of York Council

Claire MacRae – City of York Council

Dr. Louisa Hood – City of York Council, then York Minster since September 2021

Alex McCallion – York Minster

Dr. Helen Rawson – York Minster (from 2020)

Jonathan Bryant – York Conservation Trust

Paul Whiting – Make It York (until May 2020)                             

Helen Apsey – Make It York (from 2020)

Matthew Constantine – Regional National Trust



Expert Advice from:


Dr.Sarah Brown, York Glaziers Trust

Dr. Kate Giles, University of York

Reyahn King, CEO, York Museums Trust

Dr. Patrick Ottaway, PJO Archaeology

Professor Sarah Rees Jones, University of York            

Dr Christopher Young (formerly Head of World Heritage and International Policy at English Heritage)